txnewbee

Dec 6, 2012
Looking to get an 1984 honda cr500 but would like to know what mods would be required to make it reliable not gona offroad it at all going to completely convert to a street bike need l the advice and help i can get please and thank you :ride:

txnewbee

Dec 6, 2012
Reason im gona street it is im a truck driver and sometimes ill get stuck in a town for work for a couple days and its a pain to drive my big truck around so i found this cr500 and the guy wants 400 bucks just want to make sure i can make it reliable

Papakeith

COTT Champ Emeritus
Damn Yankees
Aug 31, 2000
RI
I had an 84. It would start first kick. . . or take 20 and maybe a bump start. It would burble off idle until it it got on the pipe and then it would hit pretty good. Drum rear brake if I remember correctly. loud as all get out not only through the pipe but from the air fins resonating.
It was a fun bike, but streetable? I suppose so. Wouldn't be my first choice though

You'd want to replace the stator so you can have lights, turn signals, brake lights. A switch for the brake pedal. Some sort of battery to pass DOT inspection. Probably a horn too. The tires are supposed to be DOT legal.
Good luck! share some pics.

txnewbee

Dec 6, 2012
Not my first choice either but he wants 400 thats good right? Ive heard that an upgraded pipe and carb help it run better as far as all the issues ive read they have and the fact that they can hit highway speeds is a plus and the electrical is what im really concerned about

txnewbee

Dec 6, 2012
Also what stator would you recommend on this bike? I may ask really wtf questions but like my name says im a newbee and im from TX lol but i plan to do a bobberish style build when its all said and done just need help from all the people that know these bikes best and how to get it reliable also a question yall probably dont get much on here how do you lower this bike? I want low low chopper level

Papakeith

COTT Champ Emeritus
Damn Yankees