Rhein

Jul 17, 2006
Hey guys, I just got an 07 250SX, I am in love, sickest bike I have been on and I have ridden Honda 2ts, 4ts/Kawi 2ts/Suzuki 2ts, 4ts/Yamaha 2ts, 4ts.

Anyway what is your guys' opinion on the 60:1 ratio, my friends and I were tripped out about it. The bike on the stock jetting is running rich on 60:1 as I see some spooge coming out of the silencer and I can just feel it.

My concern is engine longevity with 60:1, should I be fine or should I jet it for something like 50:1 or 40:1? I appreciate your help! I am a total newb when it comes to jetting. :think:

Avena Quaker

Dec 9, 2004
The manual states 60:1 when using high quality syntetic oil, if that is what you use.. then stick with it. KTM engineers must have their reasons to recomend that.

just_a_rider

Jul 25, 2006
Well the bike is running rich at 60:1 so you need to go lower with the ratio/ more oil. I don't know bro but for me Id have to play it safe with a lower ratio. It realy depends on what kinda riding your gona do, for trails a higher ratio would be fine but if your going MX and going to stay on the pipe you realy need a lower ratio to keep that thing lubed, better safe than sorry.

Rhein

Jul 17, 2006
I use Mobil 1 2t oil, from what I have read, it is one of the best. I don't do MX or race. I think my jetting is off, I read that the bike is jetted for 1600ft and 68 degrees. I am at 2100ft and I am assuming I need to lean it out a bit on the main needle, now how I go about that? I am confused, new to jetting.

ChopperDave

It's been awhile...
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 1, 2004
Do some searches for jetting. There is an abundance of jetting info allready out there!

trailqueen

Dec 30, 2006
FWIW-

I have an 07 200 xc-w and it's mixed at 50:1 and uses Maxima Super M synthetic. I took it to a KTM dealer and he re-jetted it from a 42 to 40 pilot jet and moved the needle clip up one position.