A reason to follow service intervals for RMZ & KXF 250 owners

faceplantin

Apr 24, 2006
Rich, how are the '06's doing? Has Kawi corrected most of these design flaws? I'm a novice non racer with 30 hours on my '04 and I'm gearing up to install Kibblewhite SS valves, springs, buckets and Wiesco piston. I wasn't going to split the cases yet. Is there anything else I should do?

Eric

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
faceplantin said:
Rich, how are the '06's doing? Has Kawi corrected most of these design flaws?

Unfortunately, no they haven't.

faceplantin said:
I'm a novice non racer with 30 hours on my '04 and I'm gearing up to install Kibblewhite SS valves, springs, buckets and Wiesco piston. I wasn't going to split the cases yet. Is there anything else I should do?

Eric

The oil pump screens really should be cleaned but that requires splitting the cases.

faceplantin

Apr 24, 2006
The oil pump screens really should be cleaned but that requires splitting the cases.[/QUOTE]

Good point, I'll do it. That will give me an excuse to check the shift forks and drum.
Thanks

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
If you plan on keeping the bike for a while it's worth putting in main bearings and a crank while you have it apart. The RMZ/KXF main bearings are a loose fit in the cases and tend to walk around. This causes strange wear on the bearings and the crank. The 2004 cranks had some problems with cracks forming near the big end pin area, so replacing that original crank with a new spec version is cheap insurance in the long run.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
faceplantin said:
Will current aftermarket bearings have a tighter fit?

Nope. Unless you have a 5 axis Haas CNC in your garage and can install bearings from a Yamaha or a Honda, you are pretty much stuck with the built in design issues.

JWW

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 13, 2000
Rich Rohrich said: