jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
To double check I spoke on the phone with Joey Cabrera at Motul and he assured me that I was on the right path by thinking that the principle consideration is the final mixed viscosity. He also assured me that viscosity index and flash point are indicators of the quality of the product which is why I used the oils ratings for those two to come up with comparative oil ratings. He was glad to know (but not surprised) that Motul 800 rated #1 in my comparison.
So now here's my video about the subject:

jaguar

~SPONSOR~
Jul 29, 2000
South America
Almost all big business is corrupt because what they mostly care about is making lots of money, much more than doing whats right by the customer. This chapter of my story is a case in point. I was shocked at how little “disclosure” has been made by the engine oil makers and so I studied up on the subject of fuel/oil ratios in relation to engine oil characteristics and made a spreadsheet calculator that used an oils viscosity and flash point temperature to calculate the minimum oil needed depending on different factors such as type of riding. Then sharing this discovery on the thumpertalk forum attracted “mototribology” who in his signature says that he only cares about threads talking about engine oils. Obviously to have only one interest in the motorcycling world means he probably has some connection and vested interest in the engine oil business. But that was just speculation on my part. He then started countering every idea I presented about oils I got from my studying the subject and using my logic to come to some conclusions. He even countered a statement I got from his own web site! And he never gave any references to back up his statements. Probably he thought people would believe him since he has a website dedicated to the topic of engine lubrication. But why does he have that site? Is it just because he likes the topic or does he have some monetary interest that would want h