DieselTech

Always breakin' something
~SPONSOR~
Jan 21, 2007
Hello all,

I rode my friend's '05 GSXR1000 yesterday, and it was quite an eye-opener for me. First off, my ride is an old-school '96 GSXF750 Katana, which although it is a sportbike (and it's engine is a direct descendant of the original GSXR750 engine), it's not a race-replica, and of course it's a carbureted 3/4 liter that is 9 years older, so I expected it to be a little different. Well, I was quite surprised at the way the bike handled - it felt completely different to me than any other bike I've ever ridden! In turns, it felt like it wanted to "stand up" - on any other bike I've owned, the bike would lay right into the turn when you lean, but not so with this thing.

Seeing as it's my first ride on a bike like this, and I wasn't really expecting this handling trait, I was not very comfortable riding the bike - I felt like I was a newbie! Other than this, the bike was very nice - smooth, great power, great brakes, nice clutch and shifting. Even the ergos weren't that bad (at least for a 10 minute ride). Can anyone explain this handling trait? I'm sure that there's nothing wrong with the bike - maybe these bikes require a different riding style that I'm just not accustomed to? TIA

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
What are you doing with the throttle in the turns where it feels like it's standing up? These bikes are fairly sensitive to where in the turn you pick up the throttle.

That's assuming of course he has the sag set correctly front and rear (pretty rare with the street riders I've encountered).

DieselTech

~SPONSOR~
Jan 21, 2007