Had '00CR250-> '02 CR or YZ250 next?

Wild Hare

Aug 9, 2001
I'm coming off an '00 CR and am going to buy an '02 CR or YZ250.
( No local support for Green or Yellow bikes )

I loved the handling, ride and Honda quality....but I rode a '97 YZ and thought it had a better motor for me. More grunt, more "forgiving", better "roll on" power. The '97 was good and I've heard the '01 and '02 motors are GREAT.

I LOVE the look of the Honda and it fit me better, but now that Yamaha opened up the cockpit they feel fine as well. What I'm looking for is a more forgiving motor with more low end pull.

I read everything printed on both....the rags are no help....both are the "best production 250 ever" in one mag or another. Both get a "C" in one mag or another....

Okay those of you that have RIDDEN or BOUGHT an '02 YZ or CR250. Ideally I'd love to hear from people that have ridden both back to back:confused:

I'm 6'4" 215 Vet "Novice". I'm a normal Novice, I still come out of corners in the wrong gear sometimes...I come up short....I get tired and want a bike that will help to mimimize my mistakes. I don't care what works for PRO's...I want the best bike for us "mortals".

So if you had 6K burning a hole in your pocket....what would you buy!:eek:

(Before somebody asks...I love my 520 for desert and off rode...but wrestling a 250 lb motorcycle on the track isn't my idea of a good time...and 4 four strokes jump "funny" :eek: )

Last edited:

MXP1MP

Nov 14, 2000