kxrider125

Oct 4, 2003
I just got a fixer upper 82 RM 250 that is very hard to start.It has a few major back fires before it starts.Once it does start it seems to run(idle) fine.I havent driven it yet as its the middle of winter here in canada and its my winter project.There is plenty of spark (ive tried a variety of different plugs and brands)and it seems like the carb is getting good fuel.I pulled the carb and cleaned everything (Starting jet,main jet,etc)by what my manual states...im a serious newbie at this.i asked at my local dealer if they had a carb rebuild kit and he said no that they would just replace any worn or damaged parts,well i could not see anything wrong,it was very clean inside.I even took a very fine wire and cleaned all the tiny openings and blew air through them.I also did a compression test and it read around the 98 psi mark,im thinking,and im probly wrong,that it needs a piston/bore job as its border line compression.my friends bike reads at around 125 psi mark(rm 125) thats with a brand new piston etc.
Its the only thing i can think of as,like i said i have sufficient spark and fuel.
Any ideas for a newcomer to the 2 stroke world.
Thanks
Tony

wgwgoldwing

Dec 12, 2003
You might have some fuel built up in the crankcase. Take the plug out and have a friend help you turn the beast upside down. Work the kick starter with your hand and you will probably get a bunch of black crude spray out the plug hole. It's a good "no-cost" something to try. Mine had a lot in it probably due to I really didn't know how to properly start it (kept kicking, and kicking and kicking - forcing more and more fuel into the crankcase).

A routine I use on my 86 RM250 (and for my 04 RM250 for that matter) is:

Engine cold:

Choke on, throttle closed, 4 swift "jab" kicks, usually starts. If not,
Choke off, throttle closed, 4 swift "jab" kicks, if still no start,
Choke off, wide open throttle, 4 swift "jab" kicks.

Engine warm: