How-To HERE IS A SOLUTION TO GETTING A BIKE TO RUN VERTICALLY

Apr 21, 2023
Hello fellow off-road enthusiasts,

Though I'm fairly young (29), I love older bikes and have restored many. I own a few old Yamaha IT's and love riding my 175 in super technical terrain. I've been recently practicing slow wheelies, getting the bike vertical, and pivot turning on the back tire for hard enduro type riding. I'm probably in the minority of people using their old IT in this manner, but I found that whenever I had the bike completely vertical it would stall out, like it would run out of fuel. I searched and searched online and never found anyone with a solution, just people saying " carbs weren't meant to run at that angle". Even on newer carb bikes I found people asking about this issue and never any real solutions presented.

I'm a mechanical engineer and I love old bikes and carbs and I decided to tackle it myself. Here is what I discovered. My bike uses old tech, a Mikuni 36mm VM.The Mikuni VM has the pilot jet located towards the front of the carb on the side of the intake spigot (side that goes into engine). When the bike goes vertical the pilot jet becomes uncovered and the carb can no longer deliver fuel through the pilot circuit.

Mikuni angle.PNG

Solution: The pilot jet needs to somehow still receive a supply of fuel when vertical. I found some tube I had and extended the pilot "straw" by forcing the tube into the orfice. When the bowl is installed, the tube bends towards the back of the carb and now always receives fuel. The bike now stays running and idling when completely vertical.

Pilot jet extension tube.PNG

Pilot tube routing.PNG