thejunglebook

Jul 13, 2005
Hey I'm New - What Size Bike Should I Get?

Hey, my name's Sam and I'm from MA. . . I'm new to motocross, but I've been on an ATV since I could walk, and always wanted to get a dirt bike. Finally my parents agreed, after years of begging. Yay. . Well anyways, just thought I'd introduce myself. . .

I'm gonna be going to look at some bikes soon, but I'm not really sure what to get. . I found an XR200 and a couple CR80s, RM80s, KX80s, etc. . However, I am about 5'9", so I don't know if theyd be too small. I've sat on an XR200 before, but it seemed a little big and clunky, and I've also sat on a DRZ125L, which seemed a decent size, but a little on the smaller size (seat height being only 30 - 31") I want to get something a little smaller, just for preferences (I feel like I could control it better), but I just wanted to ask the experts. . What do you think I should get? Any recommendations? I would like to get something thats light and not too big, but also, I've only used a clutch once on an atv, so I'm a real beginner. I don't know if its harder to learn on a 2 stroke, rather than a 4. Plus I want something I can actually ride comfortably and fit on. lol. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

-Sam

Tony Eeds

Godspeed Tony.
N. Texas SP
Jun 9, 2002
Welcome to the site :cool:

Be sure and go to your User CP and update information relating to your location, type of riding, etc.

Again, welcome to the site, and shout if you have any questions!

xsnrg

Jul 20, 2004
Hey Sam. Welcome.