Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
Let me preface this question by saying I'm a total newbie at adjusting suspension and am quickly trying to learn the ropes since I will be the chief mechanic/cook/bottlewasher etc since my son started racing this year. My question is I want to make sure his suspension is giving him what it should for performance but with him being a newbie racer I can't really rely on any feedback from him since he doesn't know how a properly tuned suspension should handle. I noticed a few issues in the last race since he has recently started to really pick up some speed and become more aggressive on the jumps that I never noticed in previous races and I think they may be suspension tuning related, although they could also be skill related as well. On a corner this weekend that had some bad braking bumps he couldn't keep the back tire grabbing and overshot the berm, the back tire just kept hopping it seemed, not severely but enough to lose braking power. The second issue I noticed that since he has started jumping farther he seems to land harder than the other kids landing in the same area (flat landings when not clearing a table) when he lands he seems to hit real hard and the bike swaps left and right a small amount, he is able to regain control by being on the gas but it costs him time as the other kids get on the gas that much quicker. To try to give you a complete picture I have set his race sag by the instructions in Eric's book, he is riding a 99 KX80 with what I assume is stock suspension (we bought the bike used) He weighs 110 lbs wearing his gear. Any advice would be appreciated in tinkering with the setup as our race season ended this past weekend and I would like to play with the settings and some other stuff on the bike before the snow arrives here. :(

JTT

~SPONSOR~
Aug 25, 2000