drkelly

Apr 13, 2010
Hello everyone. Let me introduce myself. I'm 37 yrs old now, 6'2", 190 lbs. I started riding at the age of 11 or 12 (can't remember). I've been away from riding for about 6-7 years. I still have my last bike, which is a 1999 CR250. I previously owned 86, 89, 93, and 97 model CR250's. The Honda CR250 has always been my preferred bike, even after riding my buddies bikes. I bought my 99 model almost new in 99 (It had been ridden one time). It has a lot of hours on it though due to all the riding I did back between 1999-2003. Ahh, the days of being single with no responsibilities, LOL! I got out of riding and into 4wheeling due to my buddies getting out of it, and some injuries I sustained, but lately the desire to ride again has come back. My plan is to sell my 99 model and buy a newer CR250 with very low hours, but I am unsure of what year/years would be the best. My 99 model is the only one I owned that wouldn't bottom out on large jumps, but I hate the carburetor. The idle adjustment is not on the choke knob like the previous four CR250's I owned. It doesn't idle near as well as the other models I owned. It also has been absolutely ridiculously hard to start when the engine is cold since I bought it unless I install a new plug. I don't race, and never have. I am just a play rider who rides anywhere I can, woods, track, highway construction site, etc.

So there it is, let me know what year or years of the CR250's is probably the best.

Thanks,
Danny

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
FWIW, when my old '99 CR250 got hard to start, replacing the reeds cured it.

That bike also liked to be laid over on its side for a good 10 seconds or so with the gas on before kicking it cold. Get gas running out the overflow tubes for a few seconds before you pick it up and kick. Not sure why, but it helps starting on some bikes. Mine also had a '97 ignition and carb, so maybe that helped.