moto-xtc

Nov 19, 2005
Hello guys, i'm new to this form. Their is prob already a thread on here answering my question but i haven't been able to find it yet. So i was wondering wat kinda of performance and maintance issues arise from ride my bike in the winter? Is it any harder on the engine or components? If so is their anytihng i can do to minimise this. Also my garage is heated so i'm thinking this might help the issue of the engine case expanding and shrinking between start-ups and shut downs.

Thanks for any help

Gibby

Dec 8, 2004
I have never had any problems riding my bike in the winter and I do so about everyone. My garage is also heated, and that probably helps. I do know that you will want to put either studded tires on or put carraige bolts in your rear tire along with some kind of liner. I use firehose, but an old tube will work also. Then for the front I use like 1/2 inch sheet metal screws. Pretty cheap and it works well. Good luck.

BonChance13

May 7, 2002
might want to consider jetting the bike to the cold temps,otherwise the potential to run lean is there.Also,fashioning some sort of carb cover to prevent freeze up is advised if riding in lots of wet snow.Gibby's advice is good as well.

Gibby

Dec 8, 2004
Yea that's true I forgot the most important part of Jetting. Could be anywhere from just the needle to Main jet and piot jet.

500_boy

Jan 3, 2004
Hey guys,

I just found out that my bike is road legal with just DOT tires and a mirror. And the insurance is a hell of a lot cheaper than my truck so I was thinking about riding it in the winter except when it gets really slippery. I already planned on changing the jetting. What do you think good idea to ride it everyday in the winter time? It is a 2002 TM 300E

BonChance13

May 7, 2002