Yamaha 1983 IT 175 HELP!!!!!!!!! lol

bradball

Mar 31, 2007
:bang: :bang:

Hi all,

I just got this bike and well...it's a lil crazy right now. It only starts at full choke and rides at full choke. When i shut choke off it dies unless i gas it hard. When i do get it started it idles TOOOO fast at a dangerous rpm. So i start it and get in gear fast! People keep telling me different things to do, i try but i'm new to all this and i'm WRENCH dumb. The carb is cleaned 2x.
Sometimes the throttle sticks. I am having alot of trouble finding parts too. I see alot on **** but they are from diff years and I dont know if they'll work on mine. So till i get real help, i've been ordering cosmetic things to make it look nice but that dont help me ride :(

My cash flow is low so i cant take to a shop yet so i usually buy what i need from e bay. The bike looks awesome LOL just dont run right hahaha I know they'd rape me anyways if I took to a shop. When i got the bike the guy said he had a parts bike for me. I got that bike tday and it's a different year :( diff carb etc.. all i can use is the back fender
the carb has that lil flathead screw and another thumb screw but when i move them they do not seem to do anything. I do have my gas mix right.
Oh..yeah the other day the kill switch stopped working, the bike once riding for awhile would not start either but now the kill switch is working again. Coil bad too? when it gets hot? i dunno i sure hope you smart guys can help me out
ms n is bradball_ at h o t m a i l
ya hoo is swpa_pc_doctor

Thanks In Advance!!!!!!!11

b-rocker

Feb 27, 2007
If you are sure the carb is right,check for an air leak.Is the carb on the manifold
correctly?Does the intake manifold between the carb and the engine o.k.?That's the
next easy thing to check.If the manifold has a crack,I've seen people just silicone
the crack and let it sit a day or so.A new part of course is really the way to go.

1BAD250

Nov 21, 2006