any tips for my 1st top end rebuild

T-MAC

Feb 9, 2008
I'm changing the piston/rings for my first time in my 99 CR250, have take the cylinder off and just am about to start taking the piston off but just have a few questions.

Should I clean the cylinder out with anything? It looks pretty clean and smooth in there. My piston is in good shape, the only reason I'm in there is because my powervalve was stuck open and figured I may as well put the new one in. My old one had about 15 hours on it.

Does anyone have any tips for doing the power valve? I am most worried about lining it up when I put the cylinder back on. How do I know if its lined up properly?

Should I put anything on the gaskets or just do them dry? Any tips to remove the old gasket residue?

I didnt remove the cylinder head but should I just to put a new head gasket in as it came with my gasket kit?

As you can tell im pretty new to this so any other tips would be appreciated.

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
TAKE YOUR TIME

I'm not familiar with the PV setup on that, sorry.

I've always just used brake parts cleaner and paper towels to clean cylinders.

You can get liquid gasket remover that works decent. Or very carefully use a razor blade. I usually install my gaskets dry.

Make sure you check the ring end gap. It rarely needs adjusting, but it's certainly worth a look.

Definately do the head gasket. You are akready in there, why risk it? Also makes it much easier to get it all cleaned out.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana