trial_07

Play with gravity
~SPONSOR~
Apr 26, 2004
Hey guys,
I've been absent for a week now and just came back home tonight. I tried starting the CRF250R just to warm it up a bit and hear the sound you know. The bike doesn't want to start. I suspect it's cold weather because it is currently -5 degree celsius. After so many trials, I suspected the plug could be fouled. So I changed the plug (other one came out black). Bike won't start again. It has been very cold all week long, is it normal to have such difficulty at starting it? Any tips? Should I worry about anything? The bike ran great last week end.
Thanks.

junkjeeps

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 24, 2001
Another thing you can try is draining the float bowl. I've seen where they won't start on what's been sitting in the bowl for a week or two. They like it fresh.

trial_07

Play with gravity
~SPONSOR~
Apr 26, 2004
Ok I'll try draining the bowl. How do I know if the hot start is stuck (I'm new at that stuff)? Should I try starting in 3rd behing the four wheeler or something? Thanks for the replies.

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
trial_07 said:
Ok I'll try draining the bowl. How do I know if the hot start is stuck (I'm new at that stuff)? Should I try starting in 3rd behing the four wheeler or something? Thanks for the replies.

troll_07 :whoa: Oops, I mean trial_07 ;) jk

Don't pull it behind anything. If there is something wrong with the engine, pulling it may do more damage.

Chances are, you are flooding it when trying to start it. Keep your hand off of the throttle when you kick start it. Grab the right side at the handlebar instead of the throttle until you get used to it. The carb on your bike has an accelerator pump in it. Every time you twist the throttle, it pumps raw gas into the engine.

If you think the engine is flooded, twist the throttle wide open and hold it open. Then kick the engine through about 8 to 10 times. Then shut the throttle and try to start it without giving it any throttle.