sbalram

May 29, 2002
I'm new to the dirt, and I'm looking for areas close by where I can learn to ride. I live around the 635/35 intersection and have been making the occasional trip to RedRiver and RockyRidge, but I keep wondering if there isin't a closer area just for goofing off where I won't get busted.

Any suggestions, folks? No MX for now, Thanks.

darnjr

Jul 5, 2001
This may sound crazy to some people, but if you want to ride a variety of terrain and in places where you might otherwise never get to ride, join TORO and race the winter season. Just because it's called a race doesn't mean you have to go out and kill yourself or get run over.
If I wasn't committed to racing, I'd probably never make the time to go ride.
IN any case, you might try Marshall Creek or that place in the Colony. Riding areas are getting harder and harder to come by.

Enduro_Nut

~SPONSOR~
Feb 7, 2002
Muenster/Rocky Ridge are the closest. Muenster is a great place to learn due to various types of trails - spend the time/effort and hone your skills out there.

Like darnjr said try a TORO event and ride it - DON'T worry about everyone else. A friend of mine recently started riding enduro's and that is what I told him. Relax and learn the basics and when you feel ready start competing :thumb: .

slo' mo

slower than slow...
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 5, 2000
you are actually pretty close to Shady Grove, which is really more of a recreational MX park. Nothing really serious going on there but a fun place to ride. Unfortunately I heard it's pretty much underwater right now. :(

psycho

King Rot-Gut
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 22, 2000
I was at Shady when the rain started on Friday.... Was sure slick, have to go check it out tomorrow and see how much water is out there now. Might have to find somewhere else to go for the weekend....

Green Horn

aka Chip Carbone
N. Texas SP
Jun 20, 1999