adamant

Mar 20, 2006
As some of You guys out there may be aware I will be opting for erics 144 kit on the 02 rm. Only trouble is what porting do I opt for ? I have read a few similar threads on the forum but still can not make up my mind. Should I go,mo better or the mid to top ? I am a novice rider I live in the uk so track conditions can be pretty bad what with the weather & all. There are so many things to think about & take into account. I just dont know :bang: I was even thinking if I got the mid-top porting & geard the bike down slightly. Maybe after time when my riding skills have progressed. I could change back the gearing to what it was. Or is that a not a so good idea?

Last edited:

MXP1MP

Nov 14, 2000
I went with the mid/top porting with the higher compression head (race gas only) mod's it still torque's way better then it did stock as a 125. I recommend putting a 14 tooth up front instead of getting to much wheel spin I now got drive/snap. I crack the throttle just barely in first and it's up in a wheelie. If you like to rev out the bike go for the mid/top porting I was worried at first. But now afterwards I don't know what I was so worried about I'd do it again.

adamant

Mar 20, 2006
I will get what ever porting eric suggests when he does the work . Just interested to know what other people have there 144's ported to. It seems there is a trend towards the mo better. After reading rob's review of his rm 144 02. I know I will not be dissapointed with 144 kit and the mo better. But also like rob at the time. Makes me wonder what the mid-top porting would be like ! But I also think that it doesent matter how much power you have, as much as how usable that power is....

:think:

Last edited:

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005