tn_tuxedo

Oct 9, 2004
I am seriously thinking about entering in the 24 Hr. Challenge at Maplesville this summer in the Ironman class. I've been racing HS for about 10 years now and know its more than just a long HS, requiring ALOT more preparation.
Any Ironman/24 hr. vets out there with tips or horror stories?

zero_it

~SPONSOR~
May 20, 2000
I am a veteran of four 24-hour races over the years, all on 3 to 5 rider teams. With that experience, I'm determined to never go ironman at a 24-hour race! If you can hack it, that makes you a major tough-guy in my book. Since you're solo-ing it, no need to worry about rider changes and keeping track of everyone's schedule. A good pit crew is essential though. You WILL start to get dingy in the head at some point in time and forget when you last put gas in your bike, food in your belly and important things like that. Somebody looking out for you and your bike throughout the event is extremely helpful. You have to remember to eat good food throughout the 24 hours. Dinner is kind of hard to do/remember and seems a little weird at 2:00 a.m., but so is riding your dirt bike at that ungodly hour. Prepare for any and all weather and course conditions, a lot can change in 24 hours. Bring several changes of riding gear. It's amazing how a fresh set of gear can make you feel much better, especially if it's raining, muddy and crappy out. Have a source of heat in the pits to dry out your gear and yourself as required. Even with the best HID lights money can buy, a helmet light is imperative. You can swing your head around and look around corners, behind you or at your bike (for trailside repairs), the headlight can't do any of those things. When your engine dies, so does your headlight. I like to zip-tie a glow stick to my bike at night so I can find it quickly following a cartwheel or similar unfortunate event (and fellow riders don't piledrive into it!).