Oct 25, 2009
Hello,

I am new to the forum. I have been riding my old Huskys for quite a few years and have finally decided to restore one. I was hoping that someone here might be able to tell me where to find the right paint codes or near perfect color matches for not only the tank but the frame and other little parts that will need painting. Has anyone tried powder coating parts like the expansion pipe? Thank you.

Here is the bike. I believe it to be a 1981 430 XC

Attachments

• 430 bike.jpg
    430 bike.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 3,588

Uchytil

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 29, 2003
That's a nice bike to start with. I restore Maicos and have had to have paint matched, and mixed, by a shop. I was lucky enough to have a chip off the frame where it was still new looking (under the gas tank/seat. The shops scan the chip and mix accordingly. For all my parts I have a bead blaster but you can do everything with wire wheels and sandpaper if that's your budget. Since my bikes are riders I stay away from powder. It's tough but when damaged harder to repair. With an expansion chamber I can retouch a ding and you'd never know it was done (with high temp paint). I just use high temp black off the shelf rattle can. You certainly do have options for the pipe. There's unlimited coatings that handle the heat of a 2 stroke. I've toyed with a works pipe/no paint idea also. If it's a show bike powder may be the way to go on everything$$$.

Attachments

• 440 after paint.jpg
    440 after paint.jpg
    105.4 KB · Views: 2,036

Uchytil

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 29, 2003
Some guys are going to aluminum swingarms but I like mine original.

Attachments

• 440 swingarm after paint.jpg
    440 swingarm after paint.jpg
    104.5 KB · Views: 1,966

Uchytil

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 29, 2003