Want to do track and trail on a twostroke

SoFlo

Jul 31, 2005
I want to do track and trail on a twostroke bike, and basically have it somewhat down. I'm thinking as far as mx bikes to just get a 250, since they are well, mx bikes afterall, plus they are more trailable than a 125. Trailwise there's the KDX's and yamaha's WR's, but how would these do on a track? The trail riding I'd be doing is fairly slow, riding with family. The track riding I'd be doing is as fast and far as I can SAFELY :yikes: push myself.
Right now I'm just getting into dirtbikes, used to ride a quad full time. I do know how to ride a dirtbike, so I'm not learing, I'm just actually getting used to it and good at it. I'm turning 17, 6 feet, 160 pounds or less.
Also, any problems with getting an older bike, like early to mid 90's? I've heard the mxers will still have more than I can use, so I'm guessing it'd be okay. I only have like $1800 to work with, so an older bike is going to have to do.
:cool:

tyesai

Nov 4, 2004
I would think that a mid to late 90's 250 is possible for 1800 bucks. Just remember that you need to set aside around 500 for half ass quality gear. I guess if you rode quads you might have some of this though. For my purposes, since I like to ride both tracks and trails, I found my best mod so far has been a 12 ounce flywheel weight. Some people that are more track oriented don't like this much though and go with 8-10 ounce weights. I noticed a little bit smoother power, but the greatest gain is that on the trails the bike is almost stall proof. I have an 04CR250R. I also put a FMF Gnarly Pipe and a Shorty Power CoreII silencer wich helped with the low to mid characteristics. I think I am going to go up to a 52 tooth sprocket just to see what that does to it. You can ride trails on a 250MX bike fairly easy so don't let people tell you you can't. It is a compromise, but if it is all you know the you will never know the difference.

SoFlo

Jul 31, 2005