Front Master Cylinder Rebuild Gone Bad

ropethebike

Oct 24, 2006
Well............I finally found time to rebuild the master cylinder and now I am worse off than I was. I work on alot of trucks and farm equipment, so I am a pretty fair mechanic, but I don't know very much about working on dirtbikes.

The rubber pieces on the plunger shaft that I took out of the MC was detoriated and one was torn a little, so I figured that to be the problem.

I installed the new kit and a new brake line while I was at it. Now the lever pulls really, really free and I can only get a dribble of fluid out the bottom of the line. The only thing that I can think that I might have done wrong was I put a little fluid on the rubber pieces prior to re-installing..........thought this would keep the metal from tearing the rubber but perhaps it prevented a good seal??

If I remove the brake line and hold my thumb over the MC line hole it will pressure up and squirt fluid past my thumb it I give it a little space by slightly moving my thumb.

I just totally don't understand what could have went wrong............this appears to be a simple task............anyone got any ideas??????

thanks in advance
rtb

Rotorranch

Feb 10, 2007
Fluid on the seals won't cause a problem. In fact it's recommended.

Sounds like you just haven't got it bled yet.

How are you trying to bleed it?

Rotor

ropethebike

Oct 24, 2006
Well, I thought it was like a truck master cylinder, only smaller, so I buttoned everything back up and tried pumping the brake several times and then held the brake lever in and cracked the bleeder valve, which I had a piece of hose on and the other end in a jar of fluid.

But, this didn't work. Please tell me the proper way. It seems like the MC isn't building pressure like it should, not filling the line with fluid for that matter............

thanks
rtb

Rotorranch

Feb 10, 2007
LOL...you would think that would work, but the cylinder displace a lot less fluid than a car or truck.