Need repair advice! (1991 YAMAHA WR250Z)

BIGTACO

Feb 11, 2009
Ok so I am new to dirtbikes and just recieved a 1991 Yamaha WR250Z from a buddy. Bike runs well, barring a few small issues. I plan on using this bike for a while until I can afford a newer 4 stroke of my choice. Until then, this is my ride. That being said, I need help...

The issues:

1) Engine runs great! But, when I let off the gas totally to bring the engine to an idle it dies. Could this mean a re-adjustment on the throttle linkage is needed or possibly clean the carb?

2) Rear shock is totally gone. Basically no dampening at all. Its just a spring at this point. Whats needed to fix? Can I do the work myself?

3) Front shock is leaking.

I ordered the repair manual for this bike today but I just wanted to get a head start and possibly go ahead and order the needed parts now...

Any help greatly appreciated :)

Matt90GT

May 3, 2002
1. Your pilot jet is plugged up. Remove the carb, clean all the jets out, blow out all the passages in the carb including the air screw and reassemble/reinstall. Then set the idle screw and air screw per the manual.

2&3) you need a few special tools. If you never have done suspension, best bet is to take it off the bike and to a local shop or suspension company. Most of the suspension companies charge under $100 for new seals and fluids.

FYI you have FORKS in front and a shock in the rear.

DougTx

~SPONSOR~
Oct 5, 2008
If it won't idle but it runs well then I would imagine that the pilot jet is clogged up. It may be something else but I would start with the simple things.

Pull the carb, pull the jets (might as well pull both if it is open) and soak them in carb cleaner for a while (like over night is good and what I did). Rinse them with water and then blow them out real well with compressed air and then put it back togeather.

You could also clean out the bowl and change the fuel if it is old. While you are at it throw a fresh plug in there for good measure.