Jan 27, 2009
Well im new to the dirtbike scene, I've owned a few atvs but lost when it comes to this. I've found a 03 cr125 (seems to be in good shape) for $1,200. I've also found a 02 yz125 (seems to be in good shape also) for same price. which is more reliable? Now I've rode a few bikes but never owned one, and im not looking for the fastest, just best all around. and is it true that they must be rebuilt once a year? and how much does it cost on average to rebuilt one? sorry for all the questions, just trying to learn. thanks, neil

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Sort of depends on what kind of riding you plan to do, your size, aggression level....

mathd

Oct 11, 2008
Yamaha may be faster (i ever trough that).
Alot of people say honda is more reliable(personally i dont know).

Both will require maintenance as there mx race bike, how much/often depend of you riding etc, like Patman said. Usually a compression gauge helps alot if your doing trails etc(low compression = rebuild).

Rebuild cost depend who's doing it, if you doing it yourself its cheaper, usually 150$ for a ring and piston if there is no other engine wear(cilynder change, bottom end rebuild... get more expensive)

Jan 27, 2009
my type of riding- no mx or xc or anything. just riding around the yard or trail riding. just something to ride on you know. maybe the dunes once every few months. no racing. I weigh 198 and im 5'11. Im not very aggressive, but I wont put put around 100% of the time. I would get a 4 stroke but I have no luck finding any, and I like the adrenaline of a 2-stroke

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
I'll speculate the YZ would be better for that type of use but not enough to make the CR a loser if it's cleaner / in better condition. As far a dunes and being #200 I don't know that it will work out for ya'.

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
Patman said: