Aug 29, 2006
I just got a used 03 CR 125. I am new to the whole 2-stroke thing. I'm used to my 400ex. At any rate when I take off in 1st some times the engine sounds doggy and won't accelerate but it also doesn't die. After it gets goin it runs like a top. No problem in other gears.
If I give it alot of gas and take off in 1st it runs fine.
So any suggestions ? The clutch? Carb?? Me??

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Could be the carb, but based on your brief description, it sounds like its you - if you're used to a 4 stroke ATV, a 2 stroke 125 is going to seem like it has ZERO power off the bottom. They tend to feel "boggy" on the bottom compared to a 4 stroke because there just isn't any power or torque until you get into the upper middle part of the power spread.

When you start in a race on a 125, you clutch it, 1/2 to 2/3 throttle and slip the clutch. That's the only way you're going to get off the line quick.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
Don't use first. ;) Other than that, rev it up a bit more, and slip the clutch a bit. You would have to do this for second gear starts as well. Personally, the only time I ever use 1st is when I'm riding through the pits. Same goes for my son. I ride a 250, my boy is on a 65.

Aug 29, 2006
Do you have to burn out to take off?? I talkin it doesn't accelerate at all. It just makes a boggy noise and won't hardly move. After I pull in the clutch and rev it up then release the clutch it accelerates fine.
The whole 2-stroke 4 stroke thing I understand. I can tell if its in powerband or not. I'm not takeing off in powerband.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
when in neutral and you snap the throttle open , does it bog at all??

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004