Street rider lookin to go offroad

CycleRob

Aug 2, 2002
Howdy. I've been riding streetbikes for 6 years; mostly cruisers/tourers, though I did recently start riding a sportbike. I'm starting to think about getting into offroad. I think most of my riding will be trails, though there are tracks around that I might want to try. I don't see myself ever racing moto or other though. I'm 5' 10" and 190lbs. So two questions.

First, size of bike. Should I be looking at 250s or 400s (or something else)?

Second, type of bike. From the information I have pieced together about the offroad styles, I am gravitating to XRs and KLXs rather than CRs or KXs. Is the major difference between these styles suspension (and maybe 2 vs 4 stroke in some sizes)? It seems I'll have more comfort and control on trails with an XR/KLK; but limited jumping ability for a motocross track. Is this correct and are there any other key differences to consider?

Thanks in advance.

dklink2000

Damn Yankees
Feb 18, 2002
Welcome to the dark side!!!! If your use to cruisers/tourers I would go with a four stroke. Are you going to do trail or mx? For trail i would go with a xr or wr. If you are doing both go with am mx'er. As for a four stroke mx'er, you can pic from a honda cr, yamaha yz or a ktm sx. Good luck!!

mackay

Jan 7, 2002
I would reccomend a 2 stage bike acquisition strategy.
Go buy a Honda XR250...something less than 4 or 5 years old and get out on the trails and to a lesser extent , the track. This machine will accomplish a few things for you,
1) Its not a really expensive bike to buy
2) Its not a really expensive bike to maintain
3) It has decent power
4) It has decent suspension
5) Its handling is second to none
6) Its extremely reliable
7) Its really marketable if you decide to sell it