WomanRider

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jul 19, 2006
The Spirit of the Family Enduros

I have been riding these enduros for the past 4 years and have had a blast riding them except this last one. The first one I ever did was the Pine Cone in 2004 I was on an XR200 that was way too small for me. I was extremely nervous but I did it and once I was out on the trail I had so much fun I was hooked.

That day I loved watching the little kids and there dads. Fathers would put their foot under the rear fender to lift the back end up to help the little kid get his rear tire over a log. The little kid was just twisting the throttle as far he/she could to polish the log smooth. It did not matter that I took time to wait for them. Other teenagers would pass me flying as fast as they could. They must have thought it was a race where the finish line held their treasure in life. That first race I crashed so much I was covered with blue skin from head to toe. For some reason that did not matter, I was able to finish the race and spend time with Bruno along the way.

The next year I bought a bigger bike and started my daughter on my old bike. That year Megan, Bruno and I rode the Spring Pine Cone and Pine Cone. We had fun as a family. That would be time for us to stop along the trail and chat with each other. We could see each other and help if needed. The comradery along side the trail made the enduros what they are suppose to be FUN as well as a family event. TJ even joined us that year to run gas and cheer us on. The following year TJ started riding with us again. On the 12 mile hour section we would have family time along side the trail, but on the 18 mph loop it was every one for themselves. Since 2006 my family has run every FES event there was and always had as much fun as possible. I even had fun but was in pain at the Pine Cone in 2007 when I was laying on the side of the trail waiting to be carried out.