Oct 28, 2006
I have never owned or even rode anything with a two stroke engine. For my next dirt bike that I should be getting this spring is most likely going to be a 2t. Since I am new to the world of strokes I wanted to know how much you have to change your riding technique.

I am under the impression that because the rapid acceleration on two strokes you have to change the way you ride. A friend of mine got a Kawasaki KX125 and just about ever time he tries to pull a wheelie he flips the bike backwards.

I am not scared. I am open to try anything, but i just wanted to see if there really is a difference or if my friend just sucks at riding :laugh:

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
1 sit as far forward as possible on the seat
2 rev it higher than you think you should
3 hang on
4 theres no engine braking
5 not only will you get used to it , you will crave it :nod:

Moose

~SPONSOR~
Sep 16, 2006
ellandoh said:
5 not only will you get used to it , you will crave it :nod:
That's for sure...I was getting ready to walk to school today, a guy was out using his snowblower. Kinda smelt like a two stroke...made me wanna move to Texas...

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
Smokers ride way different that 4 Strokes.

Most modern 4 strokes need you for turning, braking and acceleration.. (Wild Overstatement) 2 Strokes actually require you to ride them. Like ellandoh said, no engine braking.. Therefore you need to clutch & brake into corners.

They have a mid range hit that if you aren't familiar with, will cause you to get very familiar with the dirt quality of the track you ride. Find a nice soft place to get used to the hit, and learn what your bike sounds like when it's just about at the point that it's going to toss your a$$.. Then hold on. You'll get familiar with squeezing with your legs very quick.