keltickiwi

Jan 7, 2008
Hey guys, my '90 KDX200 has a seperate oil tank and a wee lil oil level warning light which is pretty cool.

My real question is - i see lots of people on here talking about pre-mix ratios and obviously i dont get to enjoy that privelage. Why is my bike so special it deserves an oil tank?

Final question - if this bike has "oil injection"...does it just mix the oil and gas in the carb or do more clever things with it? Do i have to worry so much about closed throttle coasting on road like i would with a pre-mix bike?

newblue

Jan 8, 2008
What is this closed throttle coasting you speak of? :think:

I'm a noob. I can ride, just don't know all the stuff I need to know about the bike yet.

keltickiwi

Jan 7, 2008
'tis where you would have the throttle closed and a high engine rpm....like when engine braking in a car. Of course - it aint good for a 2t cos closed throttle = not much fuel gettin thru = not much oil gettin thru. And high rpm = need for oil

rostifer

Mar 23, 2006
Be a smart man and pull in the clutch when your coasting. There is the answer to your problem and don't feel so special about your little oil tank. Hey Newblue. go to Motospeak to get a little dirt biking vocab.

karlp

Nov 13, 2001
On my old KE175,which had oil injection and a tank, the oil was injected at three locations. Both main crank bearings and between the carb and cylinder.
A manual for your bike might be a good idea.

ridejunky

Dec 6, 2005
rostifer said:
Be a smart man and pull in the clutch when your coasting. There is the answer to your problem and don't feel so special about your little oil tank. Hey Newblue. go to Motospeak to get a little dirt biking vocab.
Take it easy, they're just making inquiries. I guess if I bought a POS berg I might be a little testy too though.

newblue

Jan 8, 2008
rostifer said:

Sweet thanks :cool:

wileyE

Jul 6, 2003
Use injector oil , not popular premix-only oils often discussed on these forums.