pharris1992

Apr 12, 2008
Hey everyone. I'm totally new to this sport, and although i've done tons and tons of research I still have several questions. I'll get this thing done with first.

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important) 5',10" 150lbs
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? Pretty agressive
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? mostly woods and trails
4) Do you have any riding experience? no
5) Do you think you will race ? no
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? yes, and i'll learn how to fix everything
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? not sure whats gonna be better
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? will be buying used
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike? $900-$1100 is my target range, i know thats not a lot though.
10) Do you live in California? nope, new york
11) Your age? 15
12) anything else that you think would help form an opinion... nothing that i can think of

so i'm fifteen right now, and I'm going to be getting a dirt bike in a month or two. When i'm 16 (4 more months!!!!) i'm going to get my license then motorcycle license. Sooooo... heres the deal: I need a bike that I can use for aggressive trail riding now, and also make street legal in the near future. I've been thinking a 250 2-stroke, but i would love to hear what everyone thinks. (and i've read a ton about how the 250 can be a beast to learn on, but i'm not worried about it, I'd way rather have the power later on.) and along with that i just dont have the money to buy another bike later on. What i get now will be what i have for a while.

very sorry about the long post.

Any help is very appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!

--Preston

atkkid250

Uhhh...
Mar 18, 2008
laws