mrbb

Aug 26, 2010
Ok guys I am a newbie here
I have played with mx bikes off and on for about 25 years, so i am an older guys too!

I just picked up a 2000 yz 250,
it has had some basic mods done to the suspension, and new bars, better levers,triple clamps, and fmf pipe/sil/, and reeds, and a new clutch, and after market rims.
It runs better than I can ride(for now)

As for the motor, I was told nothing has been to it,
by the last owner since he got it, 3yrs ago, and that the guy before, never mentioned doing anything to it!
SO, I figure, over the winter to do a top/bottom rebuild.
and this is where I am looking for help/advice

I want to build the bike for woods trails, and hill climbs.

so i am looking for more power on the bottom, not looking for top end speed!

since I have been out of the loop a while,
what do you guys recommend I do at the rebuild while I have it apart, that can both increase power, and be better than stock replacements!

I ain't rich, but like to add better than stock parts when i rebuild!

so what would you do /add??

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Send the top end to Eric Gorr and explain what you are looking for. Problem solved and for a lot less than a bunch of add on crap.

CRipper

Sep 25, 2010
If the bottom end still spins, DONT TOUCH IT. just imo....do the top end yourself. its a peice of cake...just get a manuel and the right tools. As for your gearing and such you can buy a clutch kit or get a bigger rear sprocket like a 52 tooth and a smaller front sprocket i believe.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999