Excursion

Nov 30, 2006
Hey all,

New to the forum and just wantd to say Hello to all and I hope I get to know most of you.

I am getting my son his first moto bike for x-mas this year. He is 5 and has been talking about it for the past 2 years.

I myself have never been a rider but have always loved the sport and the competition behind it.

I am am looking for any advice on ways to go about teaching him to ride, the steps to take, gear to buy. Basically I am very new to this and dont want to scare him to where he dont want to ride anymore because I believe he will love it.

The bike I am getting is a 49CC/ Single-Cylinder/Cooled/2-Stroke, the little bity fella.

I have priced some gear and the cheapest I have found was $282 from ridegear website. This includes the Goggles, jersey, pants, gloves, chest protector, helmet and Boots.

Is this a fair price? To me I dont think he needs all that just starting out but my wife..(you know how moms are). Says he needs it all.

Any suggestions on where and what I should buy a first time rider, age 5.

Thanks all, Hope to talk to you soon.

Last edited:

KelvinKDX

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 25, 2000
Check out used gear on the "for sale" forum here and other sites. The little guys grow out of gear pretty quick. There are alos a lot of cases where the parents try to get junior into riding but junior is not interested so practically new gear goes up for sale.

Don't let him ride until he is well protected (helmet, MX boots, chest protector, gloves goggles)

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
Excursion said:
Hey all,

New to the forum and just wantd to say Hello to all and I hope I get to know most of you.

I am getting my son his first moto bike for x-mas this year. He is 5 and has been talking about it for the past 2 years.

I myself have never been a rider but have always loved the sport and the competition behind it.