Jun 25, 2010
So I was riding my 07 Honda Cr125r at my local track today and it was riding normally for about 20 mins or so. Then when i was going around I had a sudden loss of power. So I stopped to try to figure out what was wrong and I noticed that there was no compression when I pushed down on the kick start with my hand.
I think that it needs a new top end but I am not sure because I am very new to dirt bikes. Also the top end only has 15 hours on it. I don't push the bike hard either. Could you guys help me figure out the problem? Do I need a new top end? Or is it something completely different?

-Thanks

BJames

Jun 16, 2010
Unfortunately you won't really know until you have a look. The first thing to do, take off the pipe, and look into the exhaust port. If you see bad scoring and scratches on the piston, you know that you need a top end. If it looks ok, then remove the head. If you put the piston to the bottom of the stroke, you can inspect the bore. Again, any scratches or scoring, you need to do a top end. If it still looks ok, Pull the whole cylinder to inspect further.

Doesn't matter if your top end has 1 hour or 100 hours on it. If you sucked sand or dirt, it could be ruined. If it was run lean it could be ruined.

The good news is that if you just need a top end kit, and you do the work yourself, you're only going to be out $150 or so.

Uchytil

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 29, 2003