Steve_R6

Feb 20, 2002
Ok, here's the deal guys. I started riding dirt when I was 13, had an RT100 till 16 and always rode a friends CR125, then the all important 4 wheeled vehicle came and the dirtbike had to go. But, I got my motorcycle endorsement and rode cruisers till 18, then I bought my first crotch rocket (CBR600 followed by a Yamaha R6) and am trying to sell it as of now to buy another dirtbike. I rode my friends YZ250F this past weekend and liked it alot, it had enough power to scare me a little because I haven't been on dirt in so long. But I can't shake the feeling that I'll get bored with it and wish I'd bought the 250 two stroke after a month or two. I'm going to try racing this beast but I'm also going to be doing a fair amount of trail riding with my buddies. My main concern is that the 2 stroke 250 will be too much for me to handle and I'll never be able to be competitive (even in C class) with it. I want to be able to at least keep up with the pack. lol The bike also needs to be good mannered in the woods because I'll spend alot of time there too. AHHHHHH!!!!! The stress!!! :ugg: If you were me what would you get?

colem

Mod Ban
Sep 29, 2002
From what you've said it sounds like a 250f would be better. As long as you get a 2003 model starting it shouldn't be a problem.

rooster1713

Oct 24, 2002
hey steve, I'm facing the same dilemma as you and have done alot of posting on here regarding it. Like you, I owned a dirt bike when I was younger and have a good amount of street experience. From what I've heard, a 250F is the way to go. motorcycledaily just reviewed the 03 250F and say it is the best bike made. Its a really thorough review and will probably help with your decision. I hear that the 250 2 strokes and 450 4 strokes can be a handful, too. Supposedly its really easy to ride and hence is more fun and makes you go faster. Good luck and post a review on here if you get one!

mark :thumb:

Last edited:

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders