acam67

Apr 1, 2002
i am fairly new to 2 strokes and have a ? about using amsoil series 2000 2 stroke oil. it recommends a 50:1. i currently use yamalube 2r at a 36:1 and get what i think is quite a bit of smoke. have also been wet fouling quite a few plugs. seems to happen if i don't let the bike warm up for 5 minutes or so. i am running an fmf fatty as well. do believe it has stock jet and reeds. '98 cr125.

1999RM125

Mod Ban
Apr 1, 2002
when u first start your bike up cold, and try to rev it, it should sound like shiat, and a lot of smoke should come out, but i always always wait till it sounds normal, and the smoke is almost all gone, then i go do a lap or so, at a medium pase, then i let her rip, i always use the belray stuff at manufactors sugested rate.

greaser

Mar 7, 2002
Acam67,
Check your owners manual for jetting information.I put a gnarly pipe on a year ago on my 250 and it wouldn't hardly run with stock jetting.
You will need to go 1 or 2 jets leaner on the main jet and probably 1 jet leaner on the slow jet( pilot). $10 to $20 investment.
This will stop 95% of your fouling problems.

See ya
greaser

atc3434`

~SPONSOR~
Nov 1, 2001
My riding partner and I ran amsoil for the previous season, and are again this season. It seems to work quite well, very little smoke, and very little spooge. And it seems that we've had less plug fouling than usual with the amsoil. Give it a try. You got to experiment with different stuff to find out what you like...

CR307

Apr 12, 2001
I too am a Amsoil user.I am sold on it. But like atc3434 said, give it a try and if you dont like try something else.

Durt Cycler

Trial Subscriber
~SPONSOR~
Nov 13, 2001
Check out FMF's website (www.fmfracing.com) and search for jetting specs for your bike. YamaCRAP 2-R seems to run dirty. I'd stick with a 32:1 ratio for a 125. You should find a cleaner burning oil like Maxima SuperM. Good luck :)

TOTALL

Feb 21, 2002
acam67