Help me pick a Play/woods bike for a big guy

rocket1243

Jan 3, 2003
Hey everyone, I'm looking at purchasing a couple of bikes one for myself and one for the wife. I'm pretty sure the wife is getting a XR/CRF100 so no real questions for her, but I on the other hand don't know what the best choice for me will be.

I'm 27, 6'3" and 240 lbs so I can flat foot anything. I'm an avid sportbike rider who has given up the street and now only rides at trackdays. I started riding at 11 on a KE100 then jumped to the street at 14 (legal here in Alabama) and have been riding ever since. I can run a fast pace in the intermediate group and can run in advanced without getting run over, and I know this has nothing to do with dirt bikes but I'm just trying to set the stage.

Anyway I'm looking for a bike to ride trails with and just generally have a fun time on. I won't be hitting any MX size jumps but knowing myself I'll try and jump something.

I'll probably have about a $1000 in the wife's bike so that'll leave me with about $2000+/- for mine.

I'm not partial to 4 strokes or 2 strokes.

I'm kind of thinking a KDX200 might be the way to go but worry that the suspension won't be up to my size. I'll probably have any bike I get resprung for my weight so that might not be an issue.

So please give any suggestions as to what you think would be the best bike for me.

Thanks!

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri
Although not jumping bikes, you may find a proven 4-stroke within your price range. The Honda XR400, maybe even a DRZ/KLX400. At your size though, either bike will need a couple hundred invested for springs...front and rear.

georgia_tom

Feb 22, 2008