SideCut

Jul 18, 2005
Howdy Folks, I'm a noob to mx, but not to bikes. I've been riding sportbikes for about 5yrs now and have always wanted a dirtbike. I recently purchased a 2000 Honda CR125 and know nada about 2 strokes. I've heard the powerband(not quite sure exactly what that is) is really powerful on these bikes. I'm about to get some gear...helmet,gloves and boots, and then get started on working on the bike. I didn't realize there were some probs with it till after I was home. For one, there is a fuel leak around the carb area and there's also a leak around the front brakes, not sure if it's coming from the brake lines or the forks. I bought some books about riding and working on it, so hopefully it'll help. I plan to gather as much info as I can from here also.

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
Hola!

The fuel leak is likely a float or float valve sticking and the oil on the front is probably a leaking fork seal. If you do a search through the forums here, there should be plenty of descriptions on how to check / fix those.

Make sure you get that gear before you being tempted to ride that thing without it!

BTW, what sportbikes?

SideCut

Jul 18, 2005
My first streetbike wasn't a sportbike, but was an eduro. It was a Kawasaki KLR250. I then got a '98 Yamaha Seca II. It was kinda of a wanna be sportbike...had the looks but not the power. I now own a '04 Yamaha FZ6 that has some of the looks of a sportbike, and can hang with the big boys anytime. Real good all around bike.

I've already found some good info on hear about working on the bike. Most of the lingo is greek to me, but I'm sure I'll figure it out soon enough. Thanks Ya'll!

SideCut

Jul 18, 2005
High Lord Gomer said:
Cool! How similar are the ergos on that to the FZ1?