I'm a mechanical idiot and need your help.

javo

~SPONSOR~
Jul 8, 2002
I just got a 1992 CR250 and am going to totally tear it down, but Im having a problem. The bolt that runs through the back of the motor and the swingarm.. What size is that nut?? Also is it safe to just remove that (swingarm bolt) to pull the motor? Or do I have to completely disconect the rear shock then remove the swingarm bolt? I've never done this before and am trying to make this a learning experience, but I dont want to kill myself or worse hurt the bike.
Any direction you can offer is greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your help.
Jason
:worship:

B

biglou

Not sure what exact size that nut is, I think it's a 20 or 22mm? And yes, you can pull just that bolt without taking anything else apart in the rear. Best thing to do is to get a buddy to help you. Have one guy jiggle the rear wheel up and down while you tap that bolt out with a long punch and a small (hopefully) hammer. Be very careful not to booger up the threads on the end of that bolt. If you have access to a motorized bench grinder with a wire wheel, use that to clean that bolt up real purty, and smear it with a light coat of grease before reassembly.

javo

~SPONSOR~
Jul 8, 2002
If I do decide to totally disconnect the swingarm it looks like once I get the swingarm pivot bolt removed the only thing else that holds it on would be where the rear shock connects to the frame. Am I correct in this?
The guy I got this thing from did a real crappy paint job on it, just sprayed over everything (including electrical) and didnt paint the back part fo the frame, so the part you see from the outside is mostly one color but if you look through the frame you can see the original white.
I just figured if I take this thing down totally and bring it back up I will have found and corrected most everything this idiot did, and I will know all I need to about this bike. And of course, I get to learn along the way.

Thanks for your help again,
Jason

B