KX 60 vrs KX65 and Lowering Kit Question

JoeCharge

Mar 13, 2000
I'm just getting into this and looking for a bike for my son. What is the difference between these two bikes (other than motor size). Is the seat height the same? Did they stop making the 60 when they started making the 65 or doe Kaw still make both.
I am looking at a 2001 KX60. Interested in any comments good or bad. Also interested if anyone used the BARR? lowering kit and if it was OK?

zorlac_147

~SPONSOR~
Jan 31, 2001
I sold a 2001 kx60 FOR 1100.00 I did try the bergracing linkage for lowering and raising the bike it worked very well. We now have a 2003 KX65 I think the 60 was just as fast but the handling, brakes and suspension are better on the 65. But if you need to get a short rider on a very fast bike try the 60 with the linkage the new 65's are pretty tall stock.

Jasle

Sponsoring Member
Nov 27, 2001
you can buy the lowering link direct from Kawasaki for the 65. It lowers seat height about 1" from stock. Then slide the forks up and you have about 1.75 inches lower than stock. Right about where the kx60 is. Suspension is better on the KX65 but is comes set up for a heavier rider. If you kid is a lightweight you'll need lighter springs on both ends. I seem to remember the 65 comes set up for about an 80lbs rider.
I know the 60's go cheap! I have an 02 KX65 with lowering kit. Forks and shock revalved for a 60 lbs kid with lighter springs both front and rear. Raced 1 season for $2200. Getting a Cobra DC65! Mine wouldn't really be for you economical since you live in BEND OR because it would be another $200 for shipping. I think you could find something up near portland or Vancouver because there is a lot of racing at Washougal. Thats only a few hours away? If your going to race MX then do yourself a favor and just start on the 65. If racing isn't your goal then grab a 60 and just have fun.

Double J

Jul 14, 2003